Restore and delete data

This user guide helps you to restore and delete backup data of your Mac from the servers of the University of Vienna.

 Note

The backup software IBM Spectrum Protect used by the ZID will be abbreviated to ISP.

Restore data


Restore backup

To restore a file from the backup, open the ISP desktop program by searching for spectrum in the spotlight search (CMD + space bar). Then run the program IBM Spectrum Protect.

Screenshot Mac IBM Spectrum Protect öffnen

Click on the word Restore.

Screenshot mac select restore

In the next window, select Display active/inactive files in the tab View. Confirm the window with Yes.

Screenshot mac active files

In the file tree or on the right side select the files or folders you want to restore and click Restore.

Files that have already been deleted or replaced by a newer version are shown with an x. You can only see those files when you have selected Display active/inactive files.

Screenshot mac restore files

Select the location for restored objects and how you would like to restore them and click Restore.

Screenshot Mac select objects and locations

After a successful restoration you can find the files in the selected directory.

Screenshot mac restore completed window

Retrieve archive

To retrieve a file from the archive, open the ISP desktop program by searching for spectrum in the spotlight search (CMD + space bar) and starting the program IBM Spectrum Protect.

Click Retrieve.

Screenshot mac retrieve

In the file tree or on the right hand side select the archives or data you want to restore and click Retrieve.

Screenshot Mac select archives to restore

Select the space you want the objects to be saved in and click Retrieve.

Screenshot mac select space for storage

After the retrieve has been successful, you can find the data in the right directory.

Screenshot Mac retrieve successful

Delete backed-up files


Delete backup data

 Note

The deleting of backup data is deactivated on default e.g. due to possible cyber attacks on your computer. Ask the Backup team via backup.zid@univie.ac.at if you need the settings for Deleting backup data to be temporarily or permanently activated.


To remove backed up data from your ISP account again, first start the ISP desktop application by searching for spectrum in the spotlight search field (CMD + space bar). Then start the IBM Spectrum Protect program.
 

Screenshot Mac IBM Spectrum Protect öffnen

In Utilities select Delete backup data...

Screenshot Mac select utilities and delete backup data

  1. In case you don't just want to delete the newest version (= Delete active objects) but also older versions (= Delete inactive objects) of a file, click the drop down menu and selet Delete All objects.
  2. Select the objects you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete to start the deletion.

Screenshot Mac Alle Objekte löschen

Confirm with Yes.

Screenshot Mac delete confirm yes

Wait until the deletion is completed. You may then close the program.

Screenshot Mac Sicherung löschen wurde beendet

Delete archive files


To remove backed up archives from your ISP account again, first start the ISP desktop application by searching for spectrum in the spotlight search field (CMD + space bar). Then start the IBM Spectrum Protect program.

Screenshot Mac IBM Spectrum Protect öffnen

In Utilities select Delete archive data ....

Screenshot Mac delete archive data

Select the objects you want to delete and confirm with Delete.

Screenshot Mac delete archive confirm

Confirm with Yes.

Screenshot mac delete archive yes

Wait until the deletion has been successful. Then you can close the program.

Screenshot Mac deletion successful

Deleting complete file system

To remove all backed up data and archive files from your ISP account again, first start the ISP desktop application by searching for spectrum in the spotlight search field (CMD + space bar). Then start the IBM Spectrum Protect program.

Screenshot Mac Spectrum Protect öffnen

In the Utilities menu select Delete Filespaces ...

Screenshot Mac Delete file spaces

In the list select the file system you want to delete with all stored archive data and backup data and click Delete.

Screenshot Mac select filesystem

Confirm with Yes to delete all files you have selected in the central backup.

Screenshot Mac confirm deletion

Wait until the deletion is complete. Then you can close the program or start new restoring activites.

Screenshot Mac deletion confirmation