Office for students (OFS)

Please note: The Office for Student Services (OFS) is only available to students of the University of Vienna with an active u:account. Unfortunately, it is not possible to log in using a u:account UserID for staff.

Students of the University of Vienna can obtain Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus for free now. This applies as long as the underlying offer from Microsoft is available in this form and as long as the University of Vienna has an MS Campus contract.

What does Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus contain?

Office 365 ProPlus is a full version of Microsoft Office and contains the applications Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, OneNote (not for Mac), Publisher (not for Mac) and Access (not for Mac). Version updates are included in the offer.

For data protection reasons, the University of Vienna does not support Microsoft cloud services and therefore ‘only’ the download of MS Office is available.

How often can I install Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus?

With an Office 365 ProPlus licence you are entitled to install the software on up to five devices (Windows/Mac). It is possible to carry out the administration of the allocation of the software to the respective devices via your Microsoft account (see below).

How do I get my free Office 365 ProPlus?

All students of the University of Vienna with an active u:account are eligible. To obtain an Office 365 ProPlus licence, take the following steps:

  1. Go to ofs.univie.ac.at and log in with your valid u:account.
  2. Click on the button “Für Office 365 ProPlus anmelden”.
  3. You will automatically receive a user name in the form of an e-mail address (e.g. efelyd@univie.onmicrosoft.com) and a password.
  4. Go to the Office 365 portal at portal.microsoftonline.com.
  5. Enter your user name and password.
  6. In the next step you are asked to set a new password which only you know. This password must be a combination of at least three of the following elements: upper case, lower case, numbers and symbols, between 8 and 16 characters.
  7. Now you can download your free Office 365 ProPlus in the Software area.
  8. The files will be streamed to your computer from the Internet and installed (this requires that you are the administrator of the computer).

How to register and activate Office 365 ProPlus

  1. To register your Office 365 ProPlus, select the option ‘Sign in to an existing Office 365 subscription’.
  2. In the next step you are asked to enter an e-mail address which will be used for registration. Enter your user name here in the form of the e-mail address you have been given (e.g. efelyd@univie.onmicrosoft.com). 
  3. To activate Office 365 ProPlus on your computer, enter your user name where it says “Benutzer-ID”, and then your password.
  4. You can find your user name at ofs.univie.ac.at, where you also have the opportunity to reset your password if you have forgotten it.

What happens to my personal details?

Matching of the u:account data with the Office 365 ProPlus account data takes place within a database belonging to the University. The University of Vienna does not pass on any data or details about students to Microsoft.

Can I delete my Office 365 ProPlus account?

If you no longer require Office 365 ProPlus before you complete your degree programme, you can delete your Office 365 ProPlus account. To this end, go to ofs.univie.ac.at and click on the “Office 365 ProPlus Account löschen” button. You will receive a confirmation prompt - to confirm click the button “Ja, löschen Sie meinen Office 365 ProPlus Account”. This irrevocably deletes your Office 365 ProPlus account.

Forgotten your password – what next?

If you have forgotten your password, you can request a new one at ofs.univie.ac.at at any time. You can use this new password together with your user name to register in the Office 365 Portal at portal.microsoftonline.com. The first time you register there you will be asked to choose a new password which only you known.

What else do I need to know?

The system requirements are the same as those for Office 2013 – you can find detailed information about the manufacturer's website under system requirements.

Activation takes place automatically when Office 365 ProPlus is used for the first time. An Internet connection is required for activation. From then on, you have to connect to the Internet at least once every 30 days in order to check the status of the subscription. If the computer is offline for more than 30 days, Office will enter into a reduced-functionality mode until the next time an Internet connection can be made. In the reduced-functionality mode, Office 365 ProPlus is still installed on the computer, but you can only view and print documents. All functions with regard to creating new documents or editing existing ones will be deactivated.

Terms of use

This service may not be used for commercial purposes. If legal action is taken against the University of Vienna by a third party, particularly when this is due to infringements against the valid terms of use by a user, the user shall indemnify the University of Vienna. You can find detailed terms of use at Microsoft Online Services Use Rights.

What happens when I complete my degree programme?

As soon as you are no longer a student of the University of Vienna, your Microsoft account will be deleted and your Office will enter into the above-mentioned reduced-functionality mode.

Help & Support

Please address general questions to helpdesk.zid@univie.ac.at.  

For technical assistance please use the support offered by the manufacturer.

ContactFeedback

Office für Studierende (OFS)

Hinweis: Das Office für Studierende (OFS)-Service steht ausschließlich Studierenden der Universität Wien mit aktivem u:account zur Verfügung. Eine Anmeldung mit einer u:account-UserID für MitarbeiterInnen ist leider nicht möglich.

Studierende der Universität Wien haben ab sofort die Möglichkeit Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus kostenlos zu beziehen. Dies gilt solange das zugrundeliegende Angebot vom Microsoft in dieser Form besteht bzw. solange die Universität Wien einen MS-Campus Vertrag unterhält.

Was beinhaltet Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus?

Office 365 ProPlus ist eine Vollversion von Microsoft Office und beinhaltet die Anwendungen Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, OneNote (nicht für Mac), Publisher (nicht für Mac) und Access (nicht für Mac). Versionsaktualisierungen sind im Angebot inkludiert.

Aus datenschutzrechtlichen Gründen unterstützt die Universität Wien keine Cloud-Dienste von Microsoft und stellt daher "nur" die Downloadmöglichkeit von MS-Office zur Verfügung.

Wie oft darf ich Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus installieren?

Mit einer Office 365 ProPlus-Lizenz sind Sie berechtigt, die Software auf bis zu fünf Geräten (Windows/Mac) zu installieren. Die Verwaltung der Softwarezuweisung auf die jeweiligen Geräte ist über Ihren Account bei Microsoft (siehe weiter unten) möglich.

Wie komme ich zu meinem Gratis Office 365 ProPlus?

Teilnahmeberechtigt sind alle Studierenden der Universität Wien mit aktivem u:account. Um eine Office 365 ProPlus-Lizenz zu lösen, gehen Sie wie folgt vor:

  1. Rufen Sie ofs.univie.ac.at auf und melden Sie sich mit Ihrem gültigen u:account an.
  2. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Für Office 365 ProPlus anmelden.
  3. Sie erhalten automatisiert einen Benutzernamen in Form einer E-Mail-Adresse (z. B. efelyd@univie.onmicrosoft.com) und das zugehörige Passwort.
  4. Rufen Sie das Office 365 Portal unter portal.microsoftonline.com auf.
  5. Geben Sie die Kombination aus Benutzername und Passwort ein.
  6. Im nächsten Schritt werden Sie aufgefordert ein neues Kennwort festzulegen, das nur Ihnen bekannt ist. Dieses Kennwort muss eine Kombination aus mindestens drei der folgenden Elemente sein: Großschreibung, Kleinschreibung, Zahlen und Symbole und zwischen 8 und 16 Zeichen lang sein.
  7. Nun können Sie im Bereich Software Ihr Gratis Office 365 ProPlus downloaden.
  8. Die Dateien werden aus dem Internet auf den lokalen Computer gestreamt und installiert (hierfür ist Administratorzugriff auf dem zu installierenden Computer notwendig).

Anmelden/Aktivieren von Office 365 ProPlus?

  1. Um Ihr Office 365 ProPlus zu registrieren, wählen Sie die Option Mit einem bestehenden Office 365-Abonnement anmelden.
  2. Im nächsten Schritt werden Sie aufgefordert, eine E-Mail-Adresse einzugeben, die für die Anmeldung verwendet werden soll. Geben Sie hier Ihren Benutzernamen in Form der Ihnen zugeordnete E-Mail-Adresse (z. B. efelyd@univie.onmicrosoft.com) ein.
  3. Um Office 365 ProPlus auf Ihrem Computer zu aktivieren, geben Sie unter Benutzer-ID Ihren Benutzernamen und unter Kennwort das zughörige Passwort ein.
  4. Ihren Benutzernamen finden Sie unter ofs.univie.ac.at, wo auch die Möglichkeit besteht ein vergessenes Passwort zurückzusetzen.  

Was passiert mit meinen Daten?

Der Abgleich der Daten des u:accounts mit den Daten des Office 365 ProPlus Accounts erfolgt in einer universitätsinternen Datenbank. Es werden seitens der Universität Wien keine Studierendendaten an Microsoft weitergegeben.

Kann ich meinen Office 365 ProPlus Account löschen?

Wenn Sie Office 365 ProPlus vor Ablauf Ihres Studiums nicht mehr benötigen, können Sie Ihren Office 365 ProPlus Account löschen. Rufen Sie hierfür die Seite ofs.univie.ac.at auf und klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Office 365 ProPlus Account löschen. Sie erhalten eine Sicherheitsabfrage, die Sie durch Drücken der Schaltfläche Ja, löschen Sie meinen Office 365 ProPlus Account! bestätigen. Damit wird Ihr Office 365 ProPlus Account unwiderruflich gelöscht.

Passwort vergessen – was nun?

Wenn Sie Ihr Passwort vergessen haben, gibt es unter ofs.univie.ac.at die Möglichkeit jederzeit ein neues Passwort anzufordern. Dieses neue Passwort können Sie zusammen mit Ihrem Benutzernamen verwenden, um sich im Office 365 Portal unter portal.microsoftonline.com anzumelden. Dort werden Sie wie bei der Erstanmeldung aufgefordert ein neues, nur Ihnen bekanntes Passwort zu setzen.

Was muss ich noch wissen?

Die Systemanforderungen entsprechen den Systemanforderungen für Office 2013 – detaillierte Infos finden Sie auf der Herstellerseite unter Systemanforderungen.

Die Aktivierung erfolgt automatisch, wenn Office 365 ProPlus zum ersten Mal ausgeführt wird. Zur Aktivierung ist eine Internetverbindung erforderlich. In weiterer Folge muss zumindest einmal alle 30 Tage eine Verbindung mit dem Internet hergestellt werden, um den Status des Abonnements zu überprüfen. Wenn der Computer mehr als 30 Tage offline ist, wechselt Office in den Modus mit eingeschränkter Funktionalität, bis zum nächsten Mal eine Verbindung hergestellt werden kann. Im Modus mit eingeschränkter Funktionalität bleibt Office 365 ProPlus weiterhin auf dem Computer installiert, jedoch können Dokumente nur angezeigt und gedruckt werden. Alle Funktionen bezüglich der Dokumentbearbeitung oder Neuerstellung sind deaktiviert.

Nutzungsbedingungen

Zu beachten ist, dass dieses Service nicht für kommerzielle bzw. gewerbliche Zwecke genutzt werden darf. Wird die Universität Wien insbesondere aufgrund eines Zuwiderhandelns einer Nutzerin bzw. eines Nutzers gegen die im Rahmen der Nutzung geltenden Bestimmungen von einem/einer Dritten in Anspruch genommen, hat die Nutzerin bzw. der Nutzer die Universität Wien schad- und klaglos zu halten. Weiterführende Nutzungsbestimmungen finden Sie unter Microsoft Online Services Use Rights.

Was passiert bei Ende meines Studiums?

Sobald Sie nicht mehr Studierende/r der Universität Wien sind, wird Ihr Account bei Microsoft deaktiviert und Ihr Office wechselt in den oben erwähnten Modus mit eingeschränkter Funktionalität.

Hilfe & Support

Allgemeine Fragen richten Sie bitte an helpdesk.zid@univie.ac.at.  

Für technische Hilfestellungen nutzen Sie bitte die Supportkanäle des Herstellers.

KontaktFeedback