Backup shared files

You will be notified via e-mail if a u:cloud account that has shared files or folders with you has been deleted. After this notification you have 30 days to save these files outside of u:cloud. After the expiration, all shared files will be deleted and cannot be restored. These user guides help you to backup the files or folders via browser or with a locally installed u:cloud software.

Backup via browser

  • Open u:cloud in the browser and log in via weblogin of the University of Vienna.
  • In the navigation menu on the left, click Shared with you to show all files and folders shared with you. In the middle section you can see the u:cloud accounts that have shared the contents with you.
  • Click the three dots next to the u:cloud account that has been deleted according to the e-mail notification.
  • A context menu opens. Selet Download.

Screenshot - browser view

  • Save the contents either in a different folder or outside of u:cloud, e.g. locally on your PC or on a mobile storage medium (USB drive, external harddrive) or in the online storage space.

Backup with u:cloud software

If you want to backup very large files or folders, or your internet connection is bad, the download might be interrupted. In this case, use the locally installed u:cloud software.

  • In the browser, navigate to the files and folders shared with you as explained above.
  • Write down the names of the files and folders shared with you by the deleted u:cloud account.
  • Set up the locally installed u:cloud software on your PC. Use the user guides for Open with locally installed software.
  • Run the u:cloud software and synchronise the contents shared with you. To do so, click the three dots on the right.
  • In the following context menu, click Force sync now.

Screenshot - software

  • Open the u:cloud folder in the files browser.
  • Mark the files or folders you want to backup.
  • Copy the contents either in another u:cloud folder or save them outside of u:cloud, e.g. locally on your PC or on a mobile storage medium (USB drive, external harddrive) or in the online storage space.

 Note

If you want to continue saving the contents in u:cloud, you have to copy them. It is not enough to simply move them to another u:cloud folder. When moving the files, the system will still recognise them as shared and will delete them as notified after 30 days.

Screenshot - files browser