u:cloud pro

For collaboration in projects, working groups or teams, employees of the University of Vienna can use u:cloud pro with 250 GB of storage space for uploading, storing and sharing data. In justified cases, it is also possible to extend u:cloud pro.

     Note

    You have to cancel the u:cloud pro if you no longer need it. You will be charged otherwise.

     Direct links

    Form Requesting u:cloud pro

    Form Cancelling u:cloud pro

    Place request for u:cloud, u:cloud pro (login)

    u:cloud pro for your benefit

    The costs for u:cloud pro are the same as for the Tier-B-Storage service.

    u:cloud pro has the same functionalities as the individual u:cloud account. However, it is not connected to an individual person.

    • Data on u:cloud pro are available regardless of who is on the team.
    • Shared data on u:cloud pro and personal data on the individual u:cloud account are managed separately.
    • The storage space on the individual u:cloud remains unaffected and is not balanced against the used storage space on u:cloud pro.

    Requesting u:cloud pro

    Organisational units have to request u:cloud pro, which is then available to employees of the University of Vienna.

    1. Select two persons on your team who will be responsible for the new u:cloud pro. They have to be employees of the University of Vienna.
    2. Define a name for your u:cloud pro.
    3. Contact your IT representative. S/he will obtain the consent of the head of the organisational unit and request the installation by using the form u:cloud pro beantragen (requesting u:cloud pro, in German). The head of the organisational unit may also place this request with the ZID himself/herself.
    4. The ZID checks the request, sets up the u:cloud pro and gives the two responsible persons at the organisational units the necessary rights.
    5. After two weeks at the latest, the new u:cloud pro (with the name you defined) appears as a new folder in the Shared folder of the personal u:cloud accounts of the two responsible persons.
    6. The responsible persons give the other project members the necessary usage rights for collaboration on u:cloud pro.

      Accessing u:cloud pro

      You can access u:cloud pro via a browser or client, just like you access the u:cloud. 

      Sharing files and folders

      You can share files and folders on u:cloud pro the same way as you share files and folders on the u:cloud.

      Cancelling u:cloud pro

      Use the form u:cloud pro kündigen (Cancelling u:cloud pro, in German).

      You can cancel anytime without a cancellation period. You can set the cancelation date yourself in the form u:cloud pro kündigen (Cancelling u:cloud pro, in German).

      Independently from the cancellation date you will receive the final invoice at the beginning of the following December. For example: If you cancel your u:cloud pro on 4 December 2020, you will receive the last invoice at the beginning of December 2021. Only the actual accrued costs will be invoiced.

      Make sure to safe the data stored in the u:cloud pro before the cancellation date. They cannot be recovered afterwards.

      You should delete the u:cloud pro after cancellation. The ZID deletes all cancelled u:cloud pros on the confirmed cancellation date if it is still online.