Sharing files and folders

This instruction will help you to share files and folders with u:cloud.

Sharing with students and external persons

Open u:cloud with your browser. Click on the Share icon to the right of the file or folder names.

u:cloud Teilen-Symbol

Click on the tab Public Links in the right sidebar. Then click Create Public link.

You can now:

  • enter a name for the public link
  • give additional editing rights
  • protect the files or folders with a password
  • define an expiration date
  • enter e-mail addresses the public link will be sent to

Click on Share.

Now you can copy the link via the copy icon. Click on the cogwheel icon if you want to change any settings later.

Sharing with employees

You can share files and folders with employees of the University of Vienna directly in u:cloud. Open u:cloud with your browser. Click on the Share icon to the right of the file or folder names.

u:cloud Teilen-Symbol

Click on the tab User and Groups in the right sidebar. Enter the name of the employee with whom you would like to share the file or folder. The system gives you a list of suggestions. Select the employee.

Click on the cogwheel icon to the right of the name to give the employee additional rights for the file or folder. Activate the relevant check box to give them the right to share the files or folders, or to edit (create, change, delete) the files or folders.

u:cloud mit Nutzer teilen Optionen

Sharing with other Owncloud or Nextcloud users

You can share files and folders with members of universities working with Owncloud or Nextcloud licenses. Open u:cloud in your browser. Click on the Share icon to the right of the file or folder names.

u:cloud Teilen-Symbol

Enter the Federated Cloud ID of the person you want to share files and folders with in the field User and Groups. Users find their Federated Cloud ID in the web portal of their Cloud provider in Settings under General

Click on the cogwheel icon the the right of the Federated Cloud ID to give additional rights to the user for the file or folder. Activate the respective checkbox to give them the right to share and/or edit (create, change, delete).