Exchange

Exchange is a comprehensive communication platform for employees of the University of Vienna. In addition to the e-mail functionality, it offers several share functionalities, such as a shared calendar, shared administration of contacts or public folders.

An automatic virus scanner and spam filter protect accounts from malware and unwanted mailings.

Registering for Exchange

Upon request by the head of a unit, the ZID provides every organisational unit with Exchange free of charge. Only the users themselves can manage the rights structure (Who is authorised to see or change what data?) in Exchange.

Anmeldung MS-Exchange für Organisationseinheiten (PDF) (registration MS Exchange for organisational units, in German)

Accessing Exchange

You have several options to access Exchange:


On the desktop: Outlook and Apple Mail

Exchange supports the following locally installed software:

  • Outlook for Windows (as of version 2010, recommended version 2016)
  • Outlook for Mac (as of version 2016)
  • Apple Mail (as of version 11)

In Outlook and Apple Mail, you can use all functionalities of Exchange: e-mail, contacts, tasks, calendar, notes.


In the browser: Outlook Web App (OWA)

Via the Webmail component OWA, you can use Exchange from any internet-connected device. You can use all functionalities of Exchange: e-mail, contacts, tasks, calendar, notes.

Open a browser and go to OWA. Next, log in using your active u:account for employees.

After you have logged in for the first time, you can also use OWA without being connected to the internet. All functionalities are available. Any changes are synchronised and e-mails are sent and received as soon as you connect to the internet again.


On your mobile device: App

You can also synchronise your mobile devices with the Exchange server. The availability of functionalities depends on the app you selected. For further information about installation and available functionalities, please see under user guides


IMAP 

Accessing the Exchange server via IMAP is only possible via an encrypted connection (SSL or TLS). Your e-mails are only provided on one server (Exchange or IMAP). IMAP4 server owa.univie.ac.at Outgoing mail server: owa.univie.ac.at

You cannot access the Exchange server via POP3.

Using Exchange

The size of Exchange mailboxes is limited to 5 GB per user. You will receive several warning messages, before you reach this limit. If necessary, it is possible to enlarge the mailbox to up to 15 GB. Please contact exchange.zid@univie.ac.at.

Messages in the junk e-mail folder will be automatically deleted after 99 days.

You can only send e-mails with the sender address firstname.lastname@univie.ac.at. To use a different sender address, you have to set up a local SMTP account in your locally installed e-mail software or have full access to the Exchange account from which you would like to send e-mails.

To automatically forward your e-mails or set up an out-of-office message, please use the functionalities provided by the locally installed software, the App or OWA.

Data backup

All data on the Exchange server are backed up daily and stored for six months.

Exchange

Exchange ist eine umfassende Kommunikationsplattform für MitarbeiterInnen der Universität Wien. Neben der E-Mail-Funktion gibt es zahlreiche Gruppen-Funktionen, wie etwa gemeinsame Kalender, gemeinsame Verwaltung von Kontakten oder öffentliche Ordner.

Ein automatischer Virenscanner und ein automatischer Spamfilter schützen vor unerwünschten Schadprogrammen und Zusendungen.

Zu Exchange anmelden

Der ZID stellt jeder Organisationseinheit auf Antrag der Leitung kostenlos Exchange zur Verfügung. Die Rechtestruktur in Exchange (Wer darf welche Daten sehen oder ändern?) wird ausschließlich von der NutzerInnen selbst verwaltet.

Anmeldung MS-Exchange für Organisationseinheiten (PDF)

Auf Exchange zugreifen

Sie können auf mehreren Wegen auf Exchange zugreifen:


Am Desktop: Outlook und Apple Mail

Folgende lokal installierten Programme werden von Exchange unterstützt:

  • Outlook für Windows (ab Version 2010, Version 2016 empfohlen)
  • Outlook für Mac (ab Version 2016)
  • Apple Mail (ab Version 11)

Mit Outlook und Apple Mail können Sie sämtliche Funktionen von Exchange nutzen: E-Mail, Kontakte, Aufgaben, Kalender, Notizen.


Im Browser: Outlook Web App (OWA)

Mit der Webmail-Komponente OWA können Sie auf jedem Gerät mit Internetzugang Exchange nutzen. Sämtliche Funktionen von Exchange stehen zur Verfügung: E-Mail, Kontakte, Aufgaben, Kalender, Notizen.

Öffnen Sie einen Browser und rufen Sie OWA auf. Loggen Sie sich anschließend mit Ihrem aktiven u:account für MitarbeiterInnen ein.

Nach dem erstmalige Login können Sie OWA auch ohne Internetverbindung nutzen. Sämtliche Funktionen stehen zur Verfügung. Die Änderungen werden synchronisiert, E-Mails werden gesendet und empfangen, sobald wieder eine Internetverbindung hergestellt wurde. 


Am mobilen Endgerät: App

Auch mobile Endgeräte können mit dem Exchange-Server synchronisiert werden. Welche Funktionen verfügbar sind, hängt von der gewählten App ab. Mehr über Installation und Funktionsumfang erfahren Sie in den Anleitungen.  


IMAP 

Der Zugriff via IMAP auf den Exchange-Server ist nur über eine verschlüsselte Verbindung (SSL oder TLS) möglich. Ihre E-Mails werden nur auf einem Server (Exchange oder IMAP) bereitgestellt. IMAP4-Server: owa.univie.ac.at Postausgangsserver: owa.univie.ac.at

Der Zugriff via POP3 auf den Exchange-Server ist nicht möglich.

Exchange nutzen

Die Größe eines Exchange-Postfachs ist auf 5 GB pro BenutzerIn limitiert. Vor Erreichen des Limits erhalten Sie mehrere Warnmeldungen. Eine Vergrößerung auf bis zu 15 GB ist bei Bedarf möglich. Wenden Sie sich an exchange.zid@univie.ac.at.

Nachrichten im Junk-E-Mail-Ordner werden automatisch nach 99 Tagen gelöscht. 

Es können nur E-Mails mit der Absendeadresse vorname.nachname@univie.ac.at versendet werden. Um eine andere Absendeadresse zu verwenden, müssen Sie ein lokales SMTP-Konto in Ihrem lokal installierten E-Mail-Programm einrichten oder über Vollzugriff auf das Exchange-Konto verfügen, in dessen Namen Sie E-Mails versenden wollen. 

Um eine automatische E-Mail-Weiterleitung oder eine Out-of-Office-Nachricht einzurichten, nutzen Sie die von der lokal installierten Software, der App oder OWA bereitgestellten Funktionen. 

Datensicherung

Sämtliche Daten am Exchange-Server werden täglich gesichert und sechs Monate lang aufbewahrt.