Restore and delete data

This user guide helps you to restore and delete backup data of your Windows device from the servers of the University of Vienna.

 Note

The backup software IBM Spectrum Protect used by the ZID will be abbreviated to ISP.

Restore data


Restore backup

To restore a file from the backup, open the ISP desktop program by searching for dsm in the Windows search field. Then run the program Backup-Archive GUI (Sichern-Archivieren - GUI).

Screenshot Windows GUI öffnen

Click on the word Restore.

Screenshot windows restore backup

In the next window, select Display active/inactive files in the tab View. Confirm the window with Yes.

Screenshot Windows display active files

In the file tree or on the right side select the files or folders you want to restore and click Restore.

Files that have already been deleted or replaced by a newer version are shown with an x. You can only see those files when you have selected Display active/inactive files.

Screenshot files deleted or replaced

Select the location for restored objects and how you would like to restore them and click Restore.

Screenshot Windows restore location

After a successful restoration you can find the files in the selected directory.

Screenshot Windows restoration successful

Retrieve archive

To retrieve a file from the archive, open the ISP desktop program by searching for dsm in the Windows search and starting the program Backup-Archive-GUI (Sichern-Archivieren - GUI).

Screenshot Windows Open GUI

Click Retrieve.

Screenshot Windows retrieve archive

In the file tree or on the right hand side select the archives or data you want to restore and click Retrieve.

Screenshot Windows restore archive

Select the space you want the objects to be saved in and click Retrieve.

Screenshot Windows save objects

After the retrieve has been successfull, you can find the data in the right directory.

Restore archive successfull

Delete backed-up files


Delete backup data

 Note

The deleting of backup data is deactivated on default e.g. due to possible cyber attacks on your computer. Ask the Backup team via backup.zid@univie.ac.at if you need the settings for Deleting backup data to be temporarily or permanently activated.

To remove backed up data from your ISP account again, first start the ISP desktop application by searching for dsm in the Windows search field. Then start the Backup-Archive-GUI program (Sichern-Archivieren - GUI).

Screenshot Windows GUI öffnen

In Utilities select Delete backup data...

Screenshot Windows delete back up data

  1. In case you don't just want to delete the newest version (= Delete active objects) but also older versions (= Delete inactive objects) of a file, click the drop down menu and selet Delete All objects.
  2. Select the objects you want to delete.
  3. Cleck Delete to start the deletion.

Screenshot Windows select objects

Confirm with Yes.

Screenshot Windows confirm

Wait until the deletion is completed. You may then close the program.

Delete backup successful

Delete archive files

To remove backed up archives from your ISP account again, first start the ISP desktop application by searching for dsm in the Windows search field. Then start the Backup-Archive-GUI program (Sichern-Archivieren - GUI).

Screenshot Windows GUI öffnen

In Utilities select Delete archive data ....

Screenshot Windows delete archive data

Select the objects you want to delete and confirm with Delete.

Screenshot select objects to delete

Confirm with Yes.

Screenshot Windows confirm

Wait until the deletion has been successful. Then you can close the program.

Screenshot Windows deletion successful

Deleting complete file system

To remove all backed up archive data from a file system from your ISP account, first start the ISP desktop application by searching for dsm in the Windows search field. Then start the Backup-Archive-GUI program (Sichern-Archivieren - GUI).

Screenshot Windows GUI starten

In the Utilities menu select Delete Filespaces ...

Screenshot Delete Filespaces

In the list select the file system you want to delete with all stored archive data and backup data and click Delete.

Screenshot Windows Delete

Confirm with Yes to delete all files you have selected in the central backup.

Screenshot windows confirm delete all

Wait until the deletion is complete. Then you can close the program or start new restoring activites.

Screenshot Windows deletion complete