Administration

You can manage shares via the form Managing share. You have to be authorised as a share administrator to access the share. To login, you require an active u:account for employees.

 Direct Link

Form Administrating share

Granting user access to a share

  1. Create a group under the menu item Gruppen (groups).
  2. Add users under Benutzer dieser Gruppe verwalten (managing users in this group).
  3. Grant the group at least reading permissions for a directory (or the share) under Verzeichnisse (directories). This is a requirement for connecting the network drive.

Rights management offers the following functions:

  • You can grant the permissions nur lesen (read only (r/o)), or lesen und schreiben (read and write).
  • You can only grant permissions for directories. For files, the permissions of the directories in which they are located apply.

You can access the shares via the Microsoft Distributed File System (MSDFS).

Please enter the host name for clients that do not support MSDFS (for example, older Linux and macOS versions, as well as when accessing via SFTP). You can check the host name under Managing share. You can find the host name under Überblick (overview) at the end of the line Share: above the table. For example: DFS: share9.univie.ac.at.

Allocating groups and users

The allocation page contains two lists:

  • On the right-hand side, you can see a list of all objects that are currently not linked and available for selection.
  • On the left-hand side, you can see a list of all objects that are currently selected for the allocation. If the rights management tool allows you to choose between Lesen (read) and Schreiben (write), all Read-only entries are highlighted in grey.


Changing objects

  1. You can move objects by selecting the desired objects and clicking the relevant arrow between the lists.
  2. To change access permissions (read to write and vice versa), first move the relevant objects to the right, before moving them back to the left after they have been granted the new permissions. Changed objects will appear at the top of the list in red.
  3. To complete the changes, please fill in the Bemerkung (note) field and click Speichern (save). You can cancel the process by clicking Verwerfen/Abbrechen (discard/cancel).

The new permissions take effect on the file server.

Editing directories

Here you can find all directories for which you have defined permissions. On the top level, you can see the share itself and the associated permissions.

  • To display the content of a directory, click its name. The heading shows the entire path allowing you to jump to any level by clicking it.
  • You can create additional directories with the button anlegen (create).
  • The links in the column Gruppe verwalten (managing groups) allow you to manage the access permissions.
  • The menu item Beschreibung ändern / Verzeichnis löschen (change description/delete directory) allows you to change description or delete directory.

You have to create every directory on share.univie.ac.at for which you would like to grant individual access permissions with this function.

If you have already created a directory in Windows you can include it in the rights management tool with this function. It is important that you spell the name of the directory exactly the same way as it appears in Windows. The system distinguishes between capital and lowercase letters. From this point on, you can manage the permissions for this directory via Managing share.

Directories not listed in the rights management tool inherit the permissions of the directory above.

 Note

When you delete a directory that contains subdirectories or files, it will only be removed from the rights management tool. No files on the file server will be deleted.
If the directory is empty, it will be removed from the rights management tool and also from the file server.

Editing groups

You can find all groups that have already been created under Gruppen bearbeiten (editing groups).

  • The button Gruppe Anlegen (create a group) allows you to create additional groups.
  • The button Benutzer verwalten (managing users) enables you to manage the users of a group. The list on the right-hand side only lists the u:account users that have been granted permission when you created the share. To grant permissions to further users, you can use the submenu BenutzerInnen (users).
  • The button Verzeichnisse verwalten (managing directories) enables you to manage a group’s access permissions.
  • The menu item Beschreibung ändern / Verzeichnis löschen (change description/delete directory) allows you to change description or delete group. The system deletes groups without asking back.  You can only delete a group if is not linked to any directories or users.

Managing users

You can find all users listed according to group membership under BenutzerInnen (users).

To manage the rights of specific users, please enter the relevant u:account UserID in the search field. If you enter a u:account UserID for which you did not grant the necessary permissions when creating the share, the system will ask you if you would like to add this UserID to the share.

Share administrators can add administrators or remove administrators under Share-Admin (share administration). The other administrators will receive an e-mail notification.

Recovering files

The files on share.univie.ac.at are backed up once a day.

Depending on the storage class of the share there are different ways to recover files.


Tier A storage

Click Dateien wiederherstellen (recover files) to recover previous file versions or any files you deleted by accident.

To display the content of a directory, click its name. You can search in the displayed directory and all its subdirectories. It does not make a difference if you use capital or lowercase letters. You can use * and ? as usual.

The option Wiederherstellen (recover) allows you to recover files. Depending on the number and age of the files, this process can take between a few minutes and several hours. You can recover files in two ways

  • Recover without replace: Existing files on the share will not be overwritten. If you recover individual files that already exist on the share, the system generates a new file name. If you recover an entire folder, the system creates a subfolder named full_restore. This subfolder contains the content of the recovered folder. Copy the files you need from this folder and delete the folder full_restore afterwards.
  • Recover and replace: The selected file and/or the entire content of a folder is written to the share without asking back. If you recover folders, the system uses the last version it has found. Therefore, you can also recover files that you deleted a long time ago using this option. Recovering older versions in a targeted way is only possible for individual files.

 Note

Any existing or even more recent files will be lost when you use the recover and replace option. Please use this option with caution.

Tier B storage

Windows

  1. In the Explorer right-click on the file you want to recover. 
  2. Choose Restore previous versions. You have access to the last 4 versions of a file.


macOS

  1. Open share in the Finder.
  2. To show hidden files in Finder simultaneously press the keys cmd+shift+period.
  3. Open the hidden folder .snapshots. In the respective subfolders you can find previous versions of the files on the share.


Linux

Open the hidden folder .snapshots on the share. In the respective subfolders you can find previous versions of the files on the share.